Posted on

JIMMY VARGAS…The NOIR NATION interview

JIMMY VARGAS and EDDIE VEGA of NOIR NATION trade the verbs

Noir Nation: Is Jimmy Vargas your real name?

Vargas: Jimmy Vargas is the name I was born with in Chicago 1919, before my death in Los Angeles 1947. I have returned, earned and re-inherited the name after my rebirth in London 1958. It’s been quite a treacherous and tumultuous trip reclaiming my name, story and unfinished life back. Thirty years of living on and off in doss houses on Main, scouring bombed out burlesque houses, and skideroo bars, for a whisper of my racketeer pimp past. My complete story is told in the Requiem for My Shadow Bride DVD Installation / Book series.

Noir Nation: How did you come to create your Jimmy Vargas persona, the seedy crooner who hints of horrific murders to come?

Vargas: I am not a persona… I’m a natural born huckster looking for coins of grace, and rations of redemption from a dissolute and diabolical past that is soldered into my “Silver Cord.”

Hucksterism is my natural DNA.

I earn’t it.

I didn’t invent this.

Mine is not a bourgeois literary fun fair ride.

JimmyVargas1-1024x950

I’ve lived a life turning coin in the exotic industry performing and promoting striptease and erotic dancers before it became another hip feminist pursuit. I even headed up my own entertainment agency of vintage acts, rockabilly and swing combos, fan dancers and carnival freaks from the mid- eighties over three continents called Teasa-Varga.

I’m merely retracing the exact same life as I had in the nineteen forties.

 

THE FULL INTERVIEW CAN BE READ HERE:

http://ow.ly/hibeW

About jimmyvargascroonoir

My name is JIMMY VARGAS. I'm a Racketeer and croonoir and self professed Vaud-e-villain, I am a lecturer in the arcane, the gnostic, and showbusiness I have appeared at numerous Cinematheque shows internationally giving talks on American noir and burlesque film. I also front a jazz noir combo the BLACK DAHLIAS. We have released seven albums in all. The newest 'DESOLACIONE' is due out March 2012. My first book "MY SHADOW BRIDE' (previously available on the multimedia dvd "REQUIEM FOR MY SHADOW BRIDE") will be available on Kindle in April 2012

Leave a Reply

