Posted on

The ‘NOISE ON FILM’ interview with JIMMY VARGAS

AAR ROPER AND MIYA LOVE OF FILM COLLECTIVE NOFI INTERVIEW NOIR AUTEUR JIMMY VARGAS ABOUT HIS “REQUIEM FOR MY SHADOW BRIDE” DVD AND HIS GUERILLA APPROACH TO HIS MULTI-MEDIA PROCESS.

NOFI: Greetings Jimmy, can you tell us about the collaborative nature of your work….?.

JV: Well NOFI, Collaboration is a given part of my business, for as an active jazz musician one ends up working with so many other different performers in an interchanging processes, it’s what is quite specific about the nature of jazz and the lifestyle itself. Ironically enough, I have just reformed with the original core members of the Black Dahlias twenty years after our original inception and completed a block of live shows entitled ‘Noirsville’. They were the first collaborators who joined me on the music ‘path’, and were a fundamental heart of the first four albums. When I create my cinematic-works however, I do change my collaborators around a-lot more fluidly. My first original cinematic co-producers were a ROMAN CZERNY, a Polish photographer who’d worked for Vogue, and fetish magazines such as Marquis and Skin, and he was joined by British multi-media wunderkind and night-club auteur, one IAN HARTLEY, and they both birthed with me the 16mm films of LILIANA SCARLATTA and myself back in 1994, the first installment of the SHADOW BRIDE series.

The full article continues at

http://www.jimmyvargas.com

About jimmyvargascroonoir

My name is JIMMY VARGAS. I'm a Racketeer and croonoir and self professed Vaud-e-villain, I am a lecturer in the arcane, the gnostic, and showbusiness I have appeared at numerous Cinematheque shows internationally giving talks on American noir and burlesque film. I also front a jazz noir combo the BLACK DAHLIAS. We have released seven albums in all. The newest 'DESOLACIONE' is due out March 2012. My first book "MY SHADOW BRIDE' (previously available on the multimedia dvd "REQUIEM FOR MY SHADOW BRIDE") will be available on Kindle in April 2012

Leave a Reply

